History & Prize Winners

Honorary members
The Board has conferred honorary membership on the following persons who have made outstanding contributions to the Association and the field:
T M H Endemann, N J van Warmelo, E O J Westphal, D T Cole, H W Pahl, C L S Nyembezi, P C Mokgokong, G Fortune, J A Louw, T J Kriel, M E R Mathivha, E B van Wyk, D P Kunene, C T D Marivate, A S Gerard, J M Lenake, C J H Krüger, A C Nkabinde, J A du Plessis, C F Swanepoel, L J Louwrens, J Khumalo, R Finlayson and P T Mtuze.

1979 – 1983 Prof Derek Fivaz
1983 – 1987 Prof Daan Lombard
1987 – 1991 Prof Chris Swanepoel
1991 – 1995 Prof Rosalie Finlayson
1995 – 1997 Prof Isaak Mathumba
1997 – 2001 Prof Henry Thipa
2001 – 2005 Dr Abner Nyamende
2005 – 2009 Prof S E Ngubane
2009 – 2013 Prof P A Mulaudzi
2013 – 2017 Dr Mantoa Smouse
2017 – Prof Monwabisi Ralarala

Prize Winners
No prizes were awarded in the years that are not listed below.


Linguistics Prize Winners 

Literature Prize Winners


Prof Louis Louwrens (UNISA)

Dr Peter Sulzer (Stadtbibliothek Winterthur)


Prof EB van Wyk (RAU)

Prof Maje Serudu (UNISA)


Prof EB van Wyk (RAU)

Prof Maje Serudu (UNISA)


Prof Lionel Posthumus (University of Zululand)

Prof Chris Swanepoel (UNISA)


Prof James Khumalo (Wits)

Prof Chris Swanepoel (UNISA)


Prof Larry Hyman (California) & Prof Francis Katamba (Lancaster)

Prof Themba Msimang (UNISA)


Prof Arnett Wilkes (UP)

Prof Chris Swanepoel (UNISA)


Prof Chuck Kisseberth (Illinois)

Prof Ruth Finnegan (Open University England)


Prof Anthony Traill (Wits)

Prof Chris Swanepoel (UNISA)


Prof Louis Louwrens (UNISA)

Ms Molly Bill (Wits) & Prof Daniel Kunene (Wisconsin)


 Prof Justus Roux (US)

Prof Gerrie Grobler (UNISA)


Prof Louis Louwrens (UNISA)

Ms Molly Bill (Wits)


Prof Sonja Bosch (UNISA)

Ms Tessa Dowling (UCT)


Prof Inge Kosch (UNISA)

Prof Chris Swanepoel (UNISA)


Prof Larry Hyman (California) & Dr Joyce (Botswana)

Prof Nogwadja Zulu (Stellenbosch)


Prof Louis Louwrens (UNISA)


Prof RM Moeketsi (UNISA) & Dr Joyce Mathangwane (Botswana)

Prof I Mathumba (UNISA)


Prof LJ Louwrens (awarded posthumously) awarded in 2008

GMM Grobler (UNISA) and Prof AP Joubert (Germany) awarded in 2008


Prof F Seidel (Cologne) awarded in 2008


2 winning articles: awarded in 2010 Prof Abner Nyamende (UCT)5 co-authors of an article: Charlotte Engelbrecht, Zethu Nkosi, Dorien Wentzel, Selverani Govender, Patricia McInerney (UKZN)

Prof Munzhedzi James Mafela (UNISA)

– awarded in 2010


Prof Tessa Dowling (UCT) – awarded in 2011

Prof Innocentia J Mhlambi (Wits) – awarded in 2011


Prof DJ Prinsloo (UP) and Prof. Ulrich Heid (Hildesheim) - awarded in 2012

Prof Innocentia J Mhlambi (Wits) – awarded in 2012


Dr Maxwell Kadenge (Wits) and Dr C Mudzingwa (Canada) - awarded in 2013

Dr T Gwekwerere (University of Zimbabwe) and Dr Gift Mheta (Durban University of Technology) – awarded in 2013


Prof Thomas M. Sengani (University of South Africa)

Dr Andrew T. Ngeh (University of Buea, Cameroon)


Pure linguistics: Dr Victor Mugari (University of Zimbabwe) and Dr Maxwell Kadenge (Wits)

Sociolinguistics: Dr Jacques Lwaboshi Kayigema (Adventist University of Central Africa- Rwanda) and Prof Dave E. Mutasa (UNISA)

Andrew Tichaenzana Manyawu (University of Lesotho)   


Pure linguistics: Dr Maxwell Kadenge (Wits)

Sociolinguistics: Prof Liliana Mammino  (UNIVE)

Prof Mziwoxolo Sirayi and Dr Owen Seda (TUT)


Pure linguistics: Ms Allen Asiimwe (Stellenbosch)

Sociolinguistics: Dr Innocentia Mhlambi (Wits)

Prof PS Groenwald (Pretoria)


Pure linguistics: Dr Sekgaila Chokoe

Sociolinguistics: Dr Zinhle P Nkosi

J.P. Tsholo and Prof M.J. Mojalefa


J.P. Tsholo and Prof M.J. Mojalefa
Pure linguistics: Dr Niklaas J Fredricks and Prof Felix Banda

Sociolinguistics: Prof T Charamba and Prof DE Mutasa

Dr Tendai Mangena

International Biennial Conference
1981 University of Potchefstroom
1983 University of the North
1985 University of Natal (Pietermaritzburg)
1987 University of Transkei
1989 University of Pretoria
1991 University of Port Elizabeth
1993 University of the Witwatersrand
1995 University of Stellenbosch
1997 University of Natal (Durban)
1999 University of South Africa
2001 University of Port Elizabeth
2003 University of Stellenbosch
2005 University of Johannesburg
2007 University of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
2009 University of The Western Cape
2011 University of KwaZulu-Natal
2013 University of South Africa
2015 Cape Peninsula University of Technology
2017 Rhodes University – Grahamstown
2019 University of the Free State

Interim Conference
1982 University of Port Elizabeth
1984 University of Namibia
1986 University of Cape Town
1988 University of Zululand
1990 University of Malawi
1992 National University of Lesotho
1994 University of Swaziland
1996 Rand Afrikaans University
1998 University of Potchefstroom
2000 University of Botswana
2002 University of Natal (Durban)
2004 University of Lesotho (Roma)
2006 University of Cape  Town
2008 University of  Swaziland
2010 University of Botswana
2012 University of Venda
2014 Walter Sisulu University
2016 National University of Science and Technology (NUST) – Namibia
2018 University of Cape Town
2020 University of Fort Hare